Shell Food Mart – Shell Food Mart Gas; over-charged; claim…

On today, Wednesday, June 1, 2011, I purchased gas at the Shell Food Mart located at 1790 Howell Mill Road, Atlanta, Georgia 30318. As an aside, this was my first time patronizing this location, which posted a price of $3.79/gallon for regular grade fuel. In addition to the $.10/gallon discount that I would receive from points accumulated on my Kroger Plus Card, I was expecting to pay only $3.69/gallon for my fuel. I went through the process of: (1) swiping Kroger Plus Card to verify that I have points to receive the discount; (2) swiping credit card for payment which includes keying in my zip code; (3) removing the nozzle and inserting into my gas tank; (4) selecting the gas that I wanted (87), which is verified when the display on that selection blinks off; (5) filling tank; and finally (6) requesting receipt. Ive done this a million times; piece of cake right? Well, not this time. Upon reviewing my receipt, I noticed that I had been mistakenly charged for premium gas. Concluding that it was a computer error, I went inside the store to bring this matter to the attention of the manager on duty. I was immediately dismissed by the person that I spoke with (who claimed to be the owner), as he claimed that there was no way that what I was saying could have occurred. Basically, if the receipt shows that I purchased premium, then that is what I selected. I told him again that I did not select premium but rather regular fuel. Again, I was dismissed. In short, he called me a liar and we got into a shouting match, expletive upon expletive, which Im not proud of, but I was so furious that he would not honor my complaint. He even went so far as to claim that of the thousands of people that buy gas there, I am the ONLY one that this has ever happened to. I challenged him with what I believe to be a fact that most people dont review their receipts; therefore, would likely miss such a discrepancy. Again dismissed. He said that if he were to put his card in, he was sure that it would make the correct selection. I told him that maybe it would, but that still doesnt negate the fact that the computerized equipment overcharged me. He went even further to say, after following me to the parking lot, the hose on the pump probably hit the premium button and that is why I was overcharged. This was my final dismissal before I got into my car and left the premises. I have never encountered such an unscrupulous business person who would not even hear the customers story before brashly stating, The customer is wrong. I have thus far submitted a verbal complaint to Shell via a phone number I obtained from the corporate website. I will also put my complaint in writing to them as well. I will pursue any other avenues available for complaining about this store and its shoddy business practices and letting the public know that this location is not customer friendly. This may not be a big deal to some (maybe most), but honestly we pay enough already without having businesses like this one cheat us on top of the high prices.

Share Review:
Yes it is. Based on the user review published on Beware.org, it is strongly advised to avoid Shell Food Mart – Shell Food Mart Gas; over-charged; claim dismissed by employee/owner?; refund request ignored/denied Atlanta, Georgia in any dealing and transaction.
Not really. In spite of the review published here, there has been no response from Shell Food Mart – Shell Food Mart Gas; over-charged; claim dismissed by employee/owner?; refund request ignored/denied Atlanta, Georgia. Lack of accountability is a major factor in determining trust.
Shell Food Mart – Shell Food Mart Gas; over-charged; claim dismissed by employee/owner?; refund request ignored/denied Atlanta, Georgia is rated 1 out of 5 based on the reviews submitted by our users and is marked as POOR.
Never trust websites which offer a shady ‘advocacy package’ to businesses. Search for relevant reviews on Ripoff Report and Pissed Consumer to see more unbiased reviews.


>